By CBSLA Staff

LOS ANGELES (CBSLA) – Vote centers are open and available for the May 18 special primary election for Assembly District 54, officials said Saturday.

The vote centers will remain open every day from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. for in-person voting or to drop off a completed vote by mail ballots, according to Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk Dean Logan.

READ MORE: Probe Underway Following Deputy-Involved Shooting In Palmdale

All centers will follow public health and safety guidelines related to COVID-19.

The election is being held to fill the seat vacated when Sydney Kamlager won the March 2 special election to fill the 30th Senate District seat that opened up when Holly Mitchell won election to the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors.

Five Democrats and a Socialist Workers Party candidate will appear on the ballot.

The Democrats are Isaac Bryan, an educator and community organizer; Heather Hutt, a former state director for then-Sen. Kamala Harris; Dallas Fowler, a businesswoman and nonprofit executive; Samuel Robert Morales, a financial advisor and entrepreneur; and Cheryl C. Turner, an attorney and state commissioner.

READ MORE: 3.6-Magnitude Earthquake Rattles Maywood; No Reports Of Damage

Retail grocery worker Bernard Senter will appear on the ballot as a candidate with no party preference because there are not enough voters who have registered as members of the Socialist Workers Party for it to qualify as an official party.

If no candidate receives a majority, a runoff will be held July 20 among the top two finishers.

The 54th Assembly District consists of Baldwin Hills, Cheviot Hills, the Crenshaw district, Century City, Culver City, Ladera Heights, Mar Vista, Palms, Rancho Park, Westwood and parts of South Los Angeles and Inglewood.

Vote centers can be found here.

MORE NEWS: Three Takeaways From Dodgers 2021 Season, NLCS

(© Copyright 2020 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. City News Service contributed to this report.)