By CBSLA Staff

LOS ANGELES (CBSLA) — The Los Angeles Dodgers are the 2020 World Series Champions.

With a 3-1 win over the Tampa Bay Rays Tuesday at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas, the boys in blue won their seventh World Series title, and first since 1988.

READ MORE: Two-Alarm Blaze Damages Apartment Building In Anaheim, 11 Residents Displaced

And while their first lead didn’t come until the bottom of the sixth in Game 6 with back-to-back runs — first by catcher Austin Barnes on a wild pitch followed by right fielder Mookie Betts, who beat the ball home, on a fielder’s choice by shortstop Corey Seager — the Dodgers held onto it for the remainder of the game.

READ MORE: Dramatic Video Shows LAPD Sergeant Coming To Aid Of Lifeless Toddler Near Echo Park

With the two runs, the boys in blue brought the score to 2-1 after Tampa Bay scored early in the game on a solo home run by Rays outfielder Randy Arozarena — his 10th homer of the postseason — in the top of the first.

But the boys in blue were not done scoring yet, with a Betts solo homer in the bottom of the eighth bringing the score to 3-1, giving the Dodgers a little more of a cushion heading into the ninth — with just three outs standing between them and the title.

MORE NEWS: SAT Exam To Go Entirely Digital By 2024

Dodgers pitcher Julio Urias ended the game in the top of the ninth with three straight outs — a Manuel Margot fly out caught by Betts, a strikeout of Mike Brosseau and Willy Adames.