LOS ANGELES (CBSLA.com) — The writers of “American Hustle,” “Blue Jasmine,” “Dallas Buyers Club,” “Her” and “Nebraska” are vying for best original screenplay Saturday at the Writers Guild of America Awards.

Eric Warren Singer and director David O. Russell are nominated for penning “American Hustle.” Woody Allen is nominated for “Blue Jasmine,” as
are Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack for “Dallas Buyers Club,” Spike Jonze for “Her” and Bob Nelson for “Nebraska.”

The nominees for best adapted screenplay are: Tracy Letts for “August: Osage County,” Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke for “Before
Midnight,” Billy Ray for “Captain Phillips,” Peter Berg for “Lone Survivor,” and Terence Winter for “The Wolf of Wall Street.”

Among television programs, the women’s prison comedy-drama “Orange is the New Black” and the Emmy-winning “Breaking Bad” each have four
nominations, followed by “House of Cards” with three.

Writers of “Breaking Bad” and “House of Cards” are both nominated for best drama series, along with “The Good Wife,” “Homeland” and “Mad

“Orange is the New Black” is nominated for best comedy, as are “30 Rock,” “Modern Family,” “Parks and Recreation” and “Veep.”

“Orange is the New Black” and “House of Cards,” both of which are distributed online by Netflix, are also nominated for best new series, and will
compete with “The Americans,” “Masters of Sex” and “Ray Donovan.”

The WGA Awards will be held simultaneously in both LA and New York, with actor and comedian Brad Garrett hosting at the LA ceremony. Nick Offerman, Amber Tamblyn, Jeff Perry, Bruce Dern, Julie Delpy and Alex Trebek are among those expected to be presenters at the event.

During the ceremony, Mel Brooks will present the Screen Laurel lifetime achievement award to Paul Mazursky. Henry Winkler will present the
Television Laurel lifetime achievement award to Garry Marshall. Jennifer Tilly will present the Valentine Davies Award to Sam Simon.

Thomas C. Cook, the screenwriter behind “The China Syndrome,” will be posthumously honored with the Morgan Cox Award for Guild service.

(©2014 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. Wire services contributed to this report.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s