(AP) — The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has chosen Steve Fisher of San Diego State as its coach of the year for District IX.

Casper Ware of Long Beach State was chosen player of the year for the region that includes California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, Arizona and Alaska.

READ MORE: Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, 1 Of 13 Service Members Killed In Kabul Suicide Bomb Attack, Memorialized At Riverside Church

Ware was among 10 players named to the all-district team announced Tuesday.

READ MORE: George W. Bush To Speak in Beverly Hills, Long Beach

The others are Jared Cunningham of Oregon State, Matthew Dellavedova of Saint Mary’s, Kyle Fogg of Arizona, Jamaal Franklin of San Diego State, Jorge Gutierrez of California, Orlando Johnson of UC Santa Barbara, Brock Motum of Washington State, and Washington teammates Terrence Ross and Tony Wroten.

The honors were decided in voting by the USBWA’s national membership.

MORE NEWS: Biker With Several Felony Warrants Arrested In Westminster

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press.