STANFORD, Calif. (AP) — Stanford’s Andrew Luck has won the Pac-12’s offensive player of the year award and David Shaw has been honored as the league’s best coach in his first season.

Luck became the fifth player to take home the award twice Monday. He threw for 3,170 yards and 35 touchdowns, breaking the Stanford single-season record he set a year ago.

Shaw took over for Jim Harbaugh and put the fourth-ranked Cardinal (11-1, 8-1) in position for a second straight BCS bowl. Stanford had never had consecutive 10-win seasons.

California linebacker Mychal Kendricks won defensive player of the year. Southern California wide receiver Marqise Lee and Oregon running back De’Anthony Thomas shared freshman offensive honors.

USC linebacker Dion Bailey was awarded freshman defensive player of the year.

1st team                                                                                                           2nd team

QB Andrew Luck, Jr., Stanford (2) QB Matt Barkley, Jr., USC
RB LaMichael James, Jr., Oregon (2) RB Stepfan Taylor, Jr., Stanford
RB Chris Polk, Jr., Washington RB John White IV, Jr., Utah
WR Keenan Allen, So., California WR Marqise Lee, Fr., USC
WR Robert Woods, So., USC WR Marquess Wilson, So., Washington State
TE Coby Fleener, Sr., Stanford TE David Paulson, Sr., Oregon
OL Tony Bergstrom, Sr., Utah OL David Bakhtiari, So., Colorado
OL David DeCastro, Jr., Stanford (2) OL John Cullen, Sr., Utah
OL Matt Kalil, Jr., USC OL Garth Gerhart, Sr., Arizona State
OL Jonathan Martin, Jr., Stanford (2) OL Khaled Holmes, Jr., USC
OL Mitchell Schwartz, Sr., California OL Senio Kelemete, Sr., Washington
Pos. First Team Defense Pos. Second Team Defense
DL Dion Jordan, Jr., Oregon DL Ben Gardner, So., Stanford
DL Star Lotulelei, Jr., Utah DL Trevor Guyton, Sr., California
DL Nick Perry, Jr., USC DL Wes Horton, Jr., USC
DL Derrick Shelby, Sr., Utah DL Travis Long, Jr., Washington State
LB Josh Kaddu, Sr., Oregon LB Dion Bailey, Fr., USC
LB Mychal Kendricks, Sr., California LB Cort Dennison, Sr., Washington
LB Chase Thomas, Jr., Stanford LB Alex Hoffman-Ellis, Sr., Washington State
DB Delano Howell, Sr., Stanford DB John Boyett, Jr., Oregon
DB T.J. McDonald, Jr., USC DB Clint Floyd, Sr., Arizona State
DB Eddie Pleasant, Sr., Oregon DB Jordan Poyer, Jr., Oregon State
DB Nickell Robey, So., USC DB Trevin Wade, Sr., Arizona
Pos. First Team Specialists Pos. Second Team Specialists
PK Andre Heidari, Fr., USC PK Jordan Williamson, Fr., Stanford
P Bryan Anger, Sr., California (3) P Jackson Rice, Jr., Oregon
RS De’Anthony Thomas, Fr., Oregon RS Jamal Miles, Jr., Arizona State
ST Rhett Ellison, Sr., USC ST Derrick Coleman, Sr., UCLA

Unanimous: Only one player was named on the first-team ballot of all 12 head coaches–WR Robert Woods of USC


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE