A new grade will be added to California elementary schools by the fall of 2012: Transitional Kindergarten. It would be the first new grade level introduced in the state since 1891.
Governor Jerry Brown has signed into a law a bill that will require health insurance companies in the state to cover treatment for autism and other severe behavioral disorders.
Federal prosecutors have launched a crackdown on pot dispensaries in California, warning the stores that they must shut down in 45 days or face criminal charges and confiscation of their property even if they are operating legally under the state’s 15-year-old medical marijuana law.
Union officials and other supporters argue the law would not only prevent teenagers from buying alcohol, but would also save the jobs of supermarket cashiers.
Need help resolving a dispute? Renters and landlords get their questions answered.
Despite safety warnings, many drivers are suspicious of the motivation behind the proposed increase at a time when the state faces a systemic fiscal crisis.
A California lawmaker says that if convicted rapist Phillip Garrido had served a longer prison term, Jaycee Lee Dugard would not have lost her childhood years to captivity.
Gov. Jerry Brown has signed a landmark bill adding lessons about gay history to social studies classes in California’s public schools.
Legislators all over the country are introducing so-called “Caylee’s Laws” — proposed laws that would make it a felony for a parent or guardian to fail to report their child missing.
Due to a new law in effect Friday, tens of thousands of hybrid car drivers will no longer be allowed to use the carpool lane.
A controversial budget-related bill that was signed into law by Governor Brown Wednesday has already touched off a political war between the largest online retailer and the State of California.
Some 3 million public and private school students in California must prove they have had a booster vaccination against whooping cough to attend grades 7 through 12 this fall.
Carbon monoxide detectors will become mandatory in many California homes on July 1.
The city of Huntington Beach is offering traffic school to bicyclists who break the law and get ticketed.
If the bill becomes law, a $20 cell phone ticket will jump to $50, with a second offense totaling upwards of $500 along with a ding on your driving record.