LOS ANGELES (CBSLA.com) — Four Los Angeles Dodgers were named to the National League All-Star team on Sunday.

Starters Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke will join first timers, second baseman Dee Gordon and outfielder Yasiel Puig, on the National League roster for the All-Star game on Tuesday, July 15 at Target Field in Minneapolis.

The Dodgers last had four players named to the All-Star team in 2010, featuring pitcher Hong-Chih Kuo, outfielder Andre Ethier, shortstop Rafael Furcal and closer Jonathan Broxton.

Kershaw, who was voted in by players, will be making his fourth All-Star appearance, while Greinke, who was selected by St. Louis Cardinals manager Mike Matheny, will be making his second.

Gordon, who easily leads the major leagues with 42 stolen bases, was also voted in by players.

Many National League fans were disappointed that Puig, was not selected to the National League roster in 2013, during his explosive rookie campaign. At that time, however, he had been in the majors for barely over a month’s time.

This year, in his inaugural All-Star game, he will start in the outfield along with fellow National Leaguers, Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates and Carlos Gomez of the Milwaukee Brewers.

Greinke is having a monster season, going 11-4 through most of the first half of the season with a 2.66 ERA and 119 strikeouts.

After earning his first career no-hitter just two weeks ago, Clayton Kershaw quickly extended his scoreless streak to 36 innings, and was voted National League Player of the Month after holding batters to a .161 average, a 0.82 ERA and 61 strikeouts on the month of June.


Comments (2)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE