Dodgers

MLB Clarifies Possession On Double Play Forceouts

View Comments
(credit: Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images)

(credit: Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images)

Los Angeles Dodgers
Upcoming Games

Buy Dodgers Tickets Full Schedule
Angels Central
Shop for Angels Gear
Buy Angels Tickets

MLB Scoreboard
MLB Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up
Dodgers Central
Shop for Dodgers Gear
Buy Dodgers Tickets

MLB Scoreboard
MLB Standings
Team STATS
Team Schedule
Team Roster
Team Injuries

Top Features
textalerts180 MLB Clarifies Possession On Double Play Forceouts

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Baseball clarified the meaning of possession for infielders trying to turn double plays on forceouts, saying they must have complete control of the ball but may drop it after intentionally opening their gloves for transfers to their throwing hands.

In the first season of expanded instant replay, when infielders have possession while trying to turn double plays has become controversial.

Major League Baseball said the interpretation of the Playing Rules Committee was agreed to by MLB, the players’ association and the umpires’ union.

MLB said Friday the committee, chaired by New York Mets general manager Sandy Alderson, determined “a legal catch has occurred … if the fielder had complete control over the ball in his glove, but drops the ball after intentionally opening his glove to make the transfer to his throwing hand.”

(© Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,540 other followers