29_35x90 knx_35x90

Latest Sports

Pettersson Docked 2 Shots On 1st Hole

View Comments
Carl Pettersson of Sweden lines up a putt on the first green during the Final Round of the 94th PGA Championship at the Ocean Course on August 12, 2012 in Kiawah Island, South Carolina.  (credit: Andrew Redington/Getty Images)

Carl Pettersson of Sweden lines up a putt on the first green during the Final Round of the 94th PGA Championship at the Ocean Course on August 12, 2012 in Kiawah Island, South Carolina. (credit: Andrew Redington/Getty Images)

Sports Fan Insider

Keep up with your favorite teams and athletes with daily updates.
Sign Up
Photo Galleries

KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. (AP) — Carl Pettersson was assessed a two-shot penalty in the final round of the PGA Championship because a leaf moved on the opening hole.

Pettersson, three shots out of the lead to start the final round Sunday, drove just inside a hazard on the first hole. He made sure he could touch the grass with his club, as long as he didn’t ground the club. He played out to the middle of the green, and PGA rules official Brad Gregory told him there might have been a violation.

After a lengthy video review, the PGA of America said a leaf moved as Pettersson took the club back. That’s a violation of Rules 13-4c for moving a loose impediment in a hazard.

Pettersson was not notified until he left the fourth tee. He birdied his next two holes.

(© Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus