Heisman Finalist Set, USC’s Barkley Not Included

(CBS) — Despite a late push for consideration, USC Trojans QB Matt Barkley was not included in the five players invited to New York for the 2011 Heisman Trophy award.

Stanford’s Andrew Luck, Baylor’s Robert Griffin III, Alabama’s Trent Richardson, Wisconsin’s Montee Ball and LSU’s Tyrann Mathieu are the five finalists.

Griffin III and Richardson are considered to be the favorites.

After hearing the finalists, Barkley tweeted, “Congrats to all the Heisman finalists, what a great year of football!”


More From CBS Los Angeles

KNX 1070 Newsradio

Listen Live