Kershaw Wins Warren Spahn Award


OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers has won the Warren Spahn Award, given annually to baseball’s top left-handed pitcher.


Kershaw was selected Thursday after finishing first this season among lefties in each of the categories included in the formula that determines the winner. He had 21 wins, 248 strikeouts and a 2.28 ERA.


 Kershaw says he is “truly humbled” to have his name mentioned alongside one of baseball’s best left-handed pitchers. Spahn’s 363 career wins are the most of any lefty to pitch in the big leagues.


 Kershaw will receive the award during a gala in Oklahoma City in January.


 Past winners include David Price (2010), CC Sabathia (2007-2009), Johan Santana (2004, 2006), Dontrelle Willis (2005), Andy Pettitte (2003) and Randy Johnson (1999-2002).


More From CBS Los Angeles

Introducing Your New Podcast Network

Listen Live