Calif. Tuition Hikes May Force Students To Ditch Class Permanently
LOS ANGELES (CBS) — Students on college campuses across California are calling for lawmakers to provide six months’ notice before enacting any tuition increase as the rising cost of education is pushing more to give up school altogether.
The move comes as trustees for the University of California and Cal State systems are set to vote on another 10 to 15 percent tuition increase, in addition the 10 percent hike approved by the state legislature earlier this month.
KNX 1070′s John Brooks reports the mounting financial pressure is forcing thousands of students across the state to decide between paying their bills and going to school.
“They have no option, they have to go to work,” said one aviation student at Cal State L.A. “I work full-time and go to school, and I know that’s very hard to do — and I know some people have it even worse than me.”
The hike could cost as much as $733 more per student at CSU, while UC students may have to pay up to $1,100 more every semester.
A decade of consecutive increases has more than tripled tuition to about $11,000 a year at UC and about $5,000 at Cal State — not including room, board and other fees.