More Drivers Texting Despite State Ban

LOS ANGELES (AP) — More California drivers are texting behind the wheel despite a state ban.

Can Tougher Penalties Curb Drivers From Texting? KNX 1070 Talks With Steve Finnegan, AAA’s Government Affairs Manager

The Automobile Club of Southern California says a sampling of 4,000 vehicles in Orange County found 2.7 percent of the drivers were observed texting. That’s twice the rate surveyed in January 2009, when the state’s ban went into effect.

Young women — 4.3 percent — are most likely to be texting behind the wheel. The survey released Wednesday shows the percentage of young men who text and drive was 2.1 percent.

Auto Club officials say the survey shows better enforcement of the law and higher penalties are needed.

In California, drivers caught texting are fined $20 for a first offense and no points are assessed to the driver’s record.

(© Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

  • Dottie

    The $20.00 is only the base fee, after the city or county adds there the ticket can cost $130.00 or more. A couple of our drivers have already found that out.

  • Carol

    The fines need to be much higher, I still see the morons texting and talking on the phone daily.

  • ginny

    It doesn’t help that you can see police officers and CHP driving down the roads in official vehicles doing the same thing. I reported some officers to the Police Chief’s office providing date, time of day, location, vehicle license number, etc. and never heard back from the chiefs office even acknowledging my call. I am still keeping my lists and sending them in.

    • vudu

      Your reports are likely being ignored, but on the slim chance they are actually doing something, they still wouldn’t tell the citizen who made the complaint.

blog comments powered by Disqus
Sandwich Generation

Listen Live