By CBSLA Staff

LOS ANGELES (CBSLA) — Veteran actor Danny Glover will receive the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and performers Samuel L. Jackson and Liv Ullmann and writer-director-actress Elaine May will be given honorary Oscars, the Academy announced Thursday.

Danny Glover attends State Senator Susan Rubio’s Senate Bill 805 (SB 805) “Save The Performing Arts Act Of 2021” Press Conference at Casa 0101 on May 19, 2021 in Los Angeles, California. at Casa 0101 on May 19, 2021 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Frazer Harrison/Getty Images)

According to the academy, the Hersholt award honors “an individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry,” while the honorary Oscars recognize “extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

READ MORE: Vigil Held For 18-Year-Old Rylee Goodrich, 1 Of 2 Teen Victims Shot And Killed In Corona Movie Theater

“We are thrilled to present this year’s Governors Awards to four honorees who have had a profound impact on both film and society,” Academy President David Rubin said in a statement. “Sam Jackson is a cultural icon whose dynamic work has resonated across genres and generations and audiences worldwide, while Elaine May’s bold, uncompromising approach to filmmaking, as a writer, director and actress, reverberates as loudly as ever with movie lovers.

“Liv Ullmann’s bravery and emotional transparency has gifted audiences with deeply affecting screen portrayals, and Danny Glover’s decades-long advocacy for justice and human rights reflects his dedication to recognizing our shared humanity on and off the screen,” the statement continued.

Glover is best known for his work in films including “The Color Purple,” “Lethal Weapon,” “Dreamgirls” and “To Sleep With Anger.” He currently serves as a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador and has been a longtime activist for economic, health and education equality in the U.S. and Africa.

READ MORE: More Businesses Like The Abbey in WeHo Setting Own Vaccine Requirements For Customers

Jackson has recently appeared in the “Avengers” and other Marvel films, but is most well-known for his roles in “Pulp Fiction,” “Shaft,” “The Long Kiss Goodnight,” “True Romance,” “Jurassic Park,” and “Do The Right Thing.”

Ullman began working on stage in Norway and began a multi-film collaboration with famed director Ingmar Bergman, including appearances in “Persona,” “The Passion of Anna” and “Cries and Whispers.” She was nominated for best-actress Oscars in the 1970s for “The Emigrants” and “Face to Face.”

May wrote, directed and starred in “A New Leaf,” and directed the films “Mikey and Nicky,” “Ishtar” and “The Heartbreak Kid.” She wrote the screenplay for “The Birdcage,” and received Oscar nominations for best adapted screenplay in 1978 for “Heaven Can Wait” and 1998 for “Primary Colors.”

The honors will be presented at the Academy’s 12th Governors Awards Jan. 15.

MORE NEWS: 17-Year Old Girl Violently Assaulted While Jogging In Culver City

(© Copyright 2021 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. City News Service contributed to this report.)