SACRAMENTO (CBS13) — A proposal to split California has qualified for the ballot in November.

The California Secretary of State’s office says the straightforwardly named measure Division Of California Into Three States has reached enough signatures.

When a person or group backing a measure says it has enough signatures to qualify for the ballot, those signatures are turned over for verification. From there, county elections officials randomly sample verify a random sample of signatures.

The measure backed by Tim Draper has hit nearly 420,000 valid or projected to be valid signatures in the random sample, topping the 365,000 needed to qualify for the November ballot.

Draper was behind a previous move to split the state into six parts, but he cut his ambition in half in August, opting just for three this time.

Northern Californians looking to run away from Sacramento and San Francisco to join the state of Jefferson will be severely disappointed as the proposal draws the line for Northern California all the way past the current state capital.

The new California would consist of coastal regions including Monterey County and Los Angeles.

Southern California, which you might expect would include Los Angeles, instead covers counties ranging from Fresno to San Diego.

The fate of Tulare County was up in the air when Draper’s original proposal left the county out, presumably to be annexed to Nevada, and instead opted to pick Imperial County twice. He’s since updated it to include Tulare County as part of Southern California.

3 states update Measure To Split California Into 3 States Qualifies For November Ballot

Here’s a list of the counties in each region:


  • Alameda
  • Alpine
  • Amador
  • Butte
  • Calaveras
  • Colusa,
  • Contra Costa
  • Del Norte
  • El Dorado
  • Glenn
  • Humboldt
  • Lake
  • Lassen
  • Marin
  • Mariposa
  • Mendocino
  • Merced
  • Modoc
  • Napa
  • Nevada
  • Placer
  • Plumas
  • Sacramento
  • San Francisco
  • San Joaquin
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Clara
  • Santa Cruz
  • Sierra
  • Siskiyou
  • Shasta
  • Solano
  • Sonoma
  • Stanislaus
  • Sutter
  • Tehama
  • Trinity
  • Tuolumne
  • Yolo
  • Yuba


  • Los Angeles
  • Monterey
  • San Benito
  • San Luis Obispo
  • Santa Barbara
  • Ventura


  • Fresno
  • Imperial (twice)
  • Inyo
  • Kern
  • Kings
  • Madera
  • Mono
  • Orange
  • Riverside
  • San Bernardino
  • San Diego
  • Tulare County
Comments (8)
  1. Do breathing and not living in any part of the date disqualify me in any way????

    Just sayin’….

  2. With all of the crime and welfare recipients in Los Angeles, I’m not sure that section could sustain itself. It would be nice to stay in CA, and it does provide a viable option for those of us who are planning to leave due to the corrupt politicians, high taxes, lack of citizen representation, and “Super Majority,” rule.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s