SANTA MONICA ( — Kenyans Elisha Barno and Hellen Jepkurgat have won the men’s and women’s titles at the Los Angeles Marathon.

Barno pulled away from 2015 winner Daniel Limo of Kenya in the final mile of Sunday’s race, crossing the finish line at the Santa Monica Pier in 2 hours, 11 minutes, 53 seconds.

Limo finished third last year in the 26.2-mile race that begins at Dodger Stadium and finishes at the Pacific Ocean.

PHOTOS: 2017 Los Angeles Marathon

Jepkurgat won the women’s race in 2:34.23, nearly 2 minutes ahead of fellow Kenyan Jane Kibii, who finished in 2:36.14.

The marathon, now in its 32nd year, drew 24,000 athletes.

Of the participants, about 3,000 included Los Angeles-area school students who are part of Students Run L.A., an organization that trains youth for the completion of the marathon.

“We do this for fun. We do this because we live for running and we do this because we love running,” said a 15-year-old participant, who attends Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School in Boyle Heights.

For the eighth consecutive year, the race was run along the “Stadium to the Sea” course from Dodger Stadium to Ocean Avenue and Santa Monica Boulevard in Santa Monica.

(TM and © Copyright 2017 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2017 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE