SAN DIEGO( – Quarterback Philip Rivers and safety Eric Weddle of the San Diego Chargers have been selected for the 2014 Pro Bowl that will be played on Jan. 26 at Hawaii’s’ Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.

Rivers currently leads the NFL this season in completion percentage of 69.7 percent and ranks fifth in passer rating.

Weddle, who is one of the highest paid safety’s in the league, will return for the second time of his career.

“Philip and Eric are both deserving representatives of our organization, as are several other players,” said Head Coach Mike McCoy. “Their play speaks for itself, and they are both great leaders and great teammates. I’m very proud they will be representing the Chargers at the Pro Bowl.”

The Chargers head to week 17 with their playoff hopes alive. In order for them to make the playoffs, they will need a win over the Chiefs and loses from both the Dolphins and Ravens.
Chargers will face the Kansas City Chiefs on CBS 2 at 1:25 PM.

In addition to Rivers’ and Weddle’s selections, the Chargers have four players who were voted top alternates for the Pro Bowl, including tight end Antonio Gates (3rd Alternate), center Nick Hardwick (4th Alternate), fullback Le’Ron McClain (4th Alternate) and punter Mike Scifres (4th Alternate).



(* First-time Pro Bowl selection)



  Tom Brady, New England   * Jordan Cameron, Cleveland
  Drew Brees, New Orleans     Vernon Davis, San Francisco
  Peyton Manning, Denver     Jimmy Graham, New Orleans
  Cam Newton, Carolina   * Julius Thomas, Denver
  Philip Rivers, San Diego      
  Russell Wilson, Seattle     TACKLES (6)
      * Branden Albert, Kansas City
  WIDE RECEIVERS (8)     Jason Peters, Philadelphia
  Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh   * Tyron Smith, Dallas
* Dez Bryant, Dallas     Joe Staley, San Francisco
* Josh Gordon, Cleveland     Joe Thomas, Cleveland
  A.J. Green, Cincinnati     Trent Williams, Washington
  Andre Johnson, Houston      
  Calvin Johnson, Detroit     GUARDS (6)
  Brandon Marshall, Chicago     Jahri Evans, New Orleans
  Demaryius Thomas, Denver     Ben Grubbs, New Orleans
        Mike Iupati, San Francisco
  RUNNING BACKS (6)     Logan Mankins, New England
  Jamaal Charles, Kansas City   * Louis Vasquez, Denver
  Matt Forté, Chicago     Marshal Yanda, Baltimore
  Frank Gore, San Francisco      
  Marshawn Lynch, Seattle     CENTERS (4)
  LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia     Ryan Kalil, Carolina
  Adrian Peterson, Minnesota     Alex Mack, Cleveland
      * Mike Pouncey, Miami
  FULLBACK (2)     Max Unger, Seattle
  Marcel Reece, Oakland      
* Mike Tolbert, Carolina      




* Greg Hardy, Carolina     NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco
* Cameron Jordan, New Orleans   * Vontaze Burfict, Cincinnati
* Robert Quinn, St. Louis   * Luke Kuechly, Carolina
  Cameron Wake, Miami     Patrick Willis, San Francisco
  J.J. Watt, Houston      
  Mario Williams, Buffalo     CORNERBACKS (8)
      * Brandon Flowers, Kansas City
  INTERIOR LINEMEN (6)     Brent Grimes, Miami
  Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay   * Joe Haden, Cleveland
  Haloti Ngata, Baltimore     Patrick Peterson, Arizona
* Dontari Poe, Kansas City     Darrelle Revis, Tampa Bay
  Justin Smith, San Francisco   * Richard Sherman, Seattle
  Ndamukong Suh, Detroit   * Aqib Talib, New England
  Kyle Williams, Buffalo   * Alterraun Verner, Tennessee
  John Abraham, Arizona     Jairus Byrd, Buffalo
  Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco     Earl Thomas, Seattle
  Tamba Hali, Kansas City     Eric Weddle, San Diego
  Justin Houston, Kansas City      
  Robert Mathis, Indianapolis     STRONG SAFETIES (3)
  Terrell Suggs, Baltimore     Eric Berry, Kanas City
        Kam Chancellor, Seattle

Leave a Reply