LONG BEACH (CBS) —  Australian Will Power overcame a pre-race penalty to win Sunday’s IndyCar Series race, the main event of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.

Power, who also won the Long Beach Grand Prix in 2008, posted the second fastest qualifying time.

He was forced to start 12th as Power was among 11 drivers in the 26-car field who had to start 10 spots lower than they otherwise would have because of a penalty stemming from unapproved changes to their Chevrolet engines.

Power passed Simon Pagenaud on the 71st lap and led for the remainder of the 85-lap race around the 1.97-mile, 11-turn street circuit around the Long Beach Convention Center, finishing .8675 of a second ahead of Pagenaud.

Power completed the race in 1 hour, 54 minutes, 1.6082 seconds. His average speed was 88.021 mph.

“We really didn’t think it was possible to win from 12th place because it was a two-stop race, but never say never,” Power said. “We ran hard when we had to. The end there, I had to save so much fuel.”

Dario Franchitti, who started from the pole due to having the fastest qualifying time, finished 15th.

(©2012 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. Wire services contributed to this report.)

Comments (2)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE