(AP) — Oakland cornerback Nnamdi Asomugha, Chicago defensive lineman Israel Idonije, and Minnesota safety Madieu Williams are the nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award.

The award, announced at the Super Bowl, is the only league honor that recognizes a player’s community service as well as his playing excellence.

READ MORE: Man In His 20s Dies Hours After Being Shot In Long Beach; Motive Unknown

The most recent winners have been Brian Waters, Kurt Warner and Jason Taylor.

READ MORE: What To Expect As 'Supercharge' Storm Moves Into SoCal

The three finalists were chosen from among 32 team nominees for the award. A panel, including NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, pared the field to three.

MORE NEWS: 'Supercharge' Storm Expected To Bring Heavy Rainfall To Southland

Asomugha played his high school football at Narbonne High School in Southern California.