SANTA MONICA ( —  “Silver Linings Playbook” was the gold standard at the 28th annual Independent Spirit Awards Saturday in Santa Monica.

The awards, held the night before the Oscars, puts the spotlight on independent, artist driven and lower budget fare.

“Silver Linings Playbook,” a favorite of Academy voters as well, was named best independent feature. The movie’s Jennifer Lawrence won best actress, and director David O. Russell won the best screenplay and best director awards.

John Hawkes of “The Sessions” won the best actor prize edging “Playbook’s” Bradley Cooper. Helen Hunt won best supporting actress for her work in “Sessions.”

The best supporting actor Spirit Award went to Matthew McConaughey for “Magic Mike.”

“Saturday Night Live” alum Andy Samberg hosted the event. Presenters were to include Amy Poehler, Bryan Cranston, Channing Tatum, Chris Tucker, Common, Dermot Mulroney, Dennis Quaid, Fred Armisen, Kerry Washington, Salma Hayek and Zoe Saldana.

The show aired on the Independent Film Channel (IFC) at 10 p.m. PT.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE