NEW YORK (CBS/AP) — Lions receiver Calvin Johnson and Vikings defensive end Jared Allen are the leading vote getters for The Associated Press 2011 NFL All-Pro Team, each falling one vote short of being unanimous choices.

Johnson and Allen each received 49 votes Friday from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the NFL. It is the fourth All-Pro team for Allen, who led the league with 22 sacks, one-half short of the record. Johnson makes it for the first time after hauling in 96 catches for a 17.5-yard average and scoring 16 touchdowns.

Quarterback Aaron Rodgers made the team for the first time, easily beating Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints. Rodgers led the Green Bay Packers to a league-best 15-1 record this season, after taking them to the Super Bowl title last February.

The highest paid safety turned out to pay off for the Chargers as Eric Weddle earned his first career All-Pro First team. He also tied for the most interceptions in the league with seven.


Below is the list of the All-Pro team:



Quarterback–Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay.
Running Backs–Maurice Jones-Drew, Jacksonville; LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia.
Fullback–Vonta Leach, Baltimore.
Tight End–Rob Gronkowski, New England.
Wide Receivers–Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Wes Welker, New England.
Tackles–Jason Peters, Philadelphia; Joe Thomas, Cleveland.
Guards–Carl Nicks, New Orleans; Jahri Evans, New Orleans.
Center–Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.
Placekicker–David Akers, San Francisco.
Kick Returner–Patrick Peterson, Arizona.
Ends–Jared Allen, Minnesota; Jason Pierre-Paul, New York Giants.
Tackles–Haloti Ngata, Baltimore; Justin Smith, San Francisco.
Outside Linebackers–Terrell Suggs, Baltimore; DeMarcus Ware, Dallas.
Inside Linebacker–Patrick Willis, San Francisco; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco, and Derrick Johnson, Kansas City.
Cornerbacks–Charles Woodson, Green Bay; Darrelle Revis, New York Jets.
Safeties–Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh; Eric Weddle, San Diego.
Punter–Andy Lee, San Francisco.
Quarterback–Drew Brees, New Orleans.
Running Backs–Ray Rice, Baltimore; Arian Foster, Houston.
Fullback–John Kuhn, Green Bay.
Tight End–Jimmy Graham, New Orleans.
Wide Receivers–Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona; Victor Cruz, New York Giants.
Tackles–Duane Brown, Houston; Joe Staley, San Francisco.
Guards–Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Logan Mankins, New England.
Center–Ryan Kalil, Carolina, and Nick Mangold, New York Jets.
Placekicker–Sebastian Janikowski, Oakland.
Kick Returner–Devin Hester, Chicago.
Ends–Justin Smith, San Francisco; Jason Babin, Philadelphia.
Tackles–Geno Atkins, Cincinnatil Vince Wilfork, New England, and Richard Seymour, Oakland.
Outside Linebackers–Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Von Miller, Denver.
Inside Linebackers–Brian Cushing, Houston; London Fletcher, Washington.
Cornerbacks–Johnathan Joseph, Houston; Carlos Rogers, San Francisco.
Safeties–Ed Reed, Baltimore; Earl Thomas, Seattle.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE