MLB May Suspend Kershaw For Parra Feud
Dodgers CentralShop for Dodgers Gear
Buy Dodgers Tickets
Sports Fan Insider
C. Trent Rosecrans
Major League Baseball will likely decide whether to discipline Dodgers left-hander Clayton Kershaw by Friday, the Los Angeles Times‘ Dylan Hernandez reports.
Kershaw was ejected in Wednesday night’s game for hitting Arizona’s Gerardo Parra, the day after Parra took offense to nearly being hit by Los Angeles reliever Hong-Chih Kuo. Parra retaliated the old fashioned way, taking Kuo deep, before taking an extra couple of seconds to admire his homer and then spring around the bases. Kershaw, in the dugout, took offense at Parra’s actions and yelled his displeasure.
Parra doubled in his first at-bat on Wednesday against Kershaw, but then Kershaw hit him in the sixth inning and was immediately ejected.
Neither team had been warned by the umpires before the game, nor during the game, but Joe Torre, the former Dodgers manager and current head of MLB’s baseball operations, called Los Angeles manager Don Mattingly to tell him the head office in New York would be watching the game closely. Torre oversees the man who will decide on any further punishment for Kershaw, Joe Garagiola Jr.
Kershaw had a strike on Parra when he hit him, and both Kershaw and Mattingly argued with home plate umpire Bill Welke that Kershaw was just pitching inside and Parra didn’t get out of the way. The pitch hit Parra in the elbow.
“The first at-bat I threw him all away and he hit a double, so the next at-bat I came in,” Kershaw said (via the Los Angeles Times). “It’s just unfortunate. I understand [Welke] has a job to do, but at the same time he has to pay attention to what’s going on in the game better.”
The Dodgers were leading 2-0 when Kershaw was booted. They went on to win, 3-2, with Kershaw picking up his 19th win of the season.
While I don’t think Kershaw was upset the ball went in and hit Parra, I’m not so sure he was looking to hit him. Arizona’s Miguel Montero doesn’t agree with me, telling the Times afterward: “We knew he was going to [hit him]. I guess there was a warning going on already, especially with Parra. I think that’s part of the game and the umpires did the right move.”
It would be highly suspect if Kershaw hadn’t been tossed after hitting Parra — regardless of intent. That said, that should be the end of it. It seems like any other punishment would be excessive. Kershaw didn’t like what Parra did, Parra took care of it with his bat and everyone’s had their say. It seems it should be over — even though Montero didn’t seem to see it that way.
“We’ll see him next time,” Montero said.
And sure enough, MLB will be watching then.