LOS ANGELES (AP) — The first batch of data from a NASA mission to map the entire sky has been released to scientists and anyone with access to the Internet.

The celestial catalog made public this week includes millions of galaxies, stars, asteroids and other objects.

Many have been previously observed, but there are some new discoveries, including more than 33,000 new asteroids and 20 comets.

The Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer, or WISE, was launched in 2009 to scan the whole sky in greater detail than previous missions. It went into hibernation earlier this year after
mapping the sky 1½ times.

The online collection represents only a portion of the all-sky survey. The full data is scheduled to be released next spring.

The project is managed by NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

(© Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE