(AP) — Ohio State, Kansas, Pittsburgh and defending champion Duke have been awarded the top seeds in this year’s NCAA tournament, anexpanded version of March Madness that will include 68 teams.

The Buckeyes defeated Penn State 71-60 on Sunday and were named the top seed in the entire field.

The tournament starts Tuesday with the first of four first-round games — two of which will pit the last of 37 at-large teams in the field.

Kansas is the Big 12 champion; Pitt earned a top seed despite losing in the quarterfinals of the Big East tournament; and Duke beat North Carolina to win the Atlantic Coast Conference tournament and edge out Notre Dame for the last No. 1 seed.

The tournament concludes with the Final Four in Houston on April 2 and 4.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE