SANTA MONICA (CBS) — The ballet-psychological thriller “Black Swan” was the big winner Saturday at the 2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards, sweeping three of the four top prizes.

The film was named Best Picture; its star, Natalie Portman, won Best Actress accolades; and the director, Darren Aronofsky, took home the prize for Best Director. It also won for Best Cinematography.

“Winter’s Bone,” the gritty tale of a girl’s search in the Ozark mountains for her drug-dealing father, won awards for Best Supporting Actress, Dale Dickey and Best Supporting Actor, John Hawkes.

Academy Awards co-host James Franco was named Best Actor for his riveting performance as a Colorado adventurer who has to cut off his right arm after he becomes pinned under a boulder in Utah.

“The Kids Are All Right” about a lesbian couple struggling to keep their family together, won the award for Best Screenplay.

Going into today’s ceremony, which was hosted by actor-comedian Joel McHale and held in Santa Monica, “Winter’s Bone” had a leading seven nominations.

To be eligible for a Spirit Award, films must be at least 70 minutes long, and the cost must be less than $20 million. Films also must have been shown in a commercial theater for at least one week or have been shown at one of the qualifying festivals — Film Independent’s Los Angeles Film Festival, New Directors/New Films, New York, Sundance, Telluride or Toronto.

Here is a complete list of winners:

Best Picture: “Black Swan”

Best Director: Darren Aronofsky, “Black Swan”

Best Actress: Natalie Portman, “Black Swan”

Best Actor: James Franco, “127 Hours”

Best Supporting Actress: Dale Dickey, “Winter’s Bone

Best Supporting Actor: John Hawkes, “WinterÆs Bone”

Best Screenplay: “The Kids Are All Right”

Best Cinematography: Matthew Libatique, “Black Swan”

Best Documentary: “Exit Through the Gift Shop”

Best Foreign Film: “The KingÆs Speech”

Best First Feature: “Get Low”

Best First Screenplay: Lena Dunham, “Tiny Furniture”

Truer Than Fiction Award: “Marwencol,” Jeff Malmberg

Someone to Watch Award: Mike Ott, “Littlerock”

Producers Award: Anish Savjani, “MeekÆs Cutoff”

Robert Altman Award (ensemble): “Please Give”

John Cassavetes Award: “Daddy Longlegs”

(©2011 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. Wire services contributed to this report.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Los Angeles

Weather Team
Goldstein Tipline

Watch & Listen LIVE