FIRE LATEST: Thousands More Flee As Thomas Fire Flares Up Saturday  | Closures And Evacuations
Live Blog | Listen Live | Full Coverage
#CBSLAHelps: CBSLA teamed up with the American Red Cross to raise money for victims of the Southern California firestorms. Click Here to donate! You can also text CBSLAHELPS to 75759 to learn more. Celebrity Guests | Full Recap

LOS ANGELES (AP) — President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for 10 California counties that saw heavy damages by the winter storms.

Wednesday’s declaration makes federal funding available for the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by flooding, debris and mud flows from Dec. 17 to Jan. 4.

Inyo, Kern, Kings, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Tulare counties are eligible for funding.

The White House says funding is also available for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Last month acting Gov. Abel Maldonado asked Obama for a major disaster declaration for the state, saying damage wrought by the storms was too much for state and local governments to handle.

(© Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From CBS Los Angeles
Plan Your Trip

Watch & Listen LIVE